Bob Lilly to Appear at Big Country Hall of Fame Class of 2011

ABILENE, TX – Dallas Cowboys Hall of Famer, Bob Lilly, is scheduled to headline the 10-person Big Country Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2011. The 10th annual Hall of Fame banquet will be held at 6:30 p.m.on May 9 at the Abilene Civic Center.

Bob Lilly and the 1971 Cowboys beat Kurt Warner and the 1999 Rams in ESPN's Super League.

Bob was born in Olney but grew up in Throckmorton, Texas. He played for the Dallas Cowboys from 1961 to 1974, and to this day is considered the greatest Cowboys defensive lineman of all time.

Bob played in 196 consecutive regular-season games. His only career “miss” came in the 1973 championship game with Minnesota, when a leg injury put him on the bench. Post-season play became a way of life for the 6-5, 260-pound Olney, Texas, native. The Cowboys played in seven NFL/NFC title contests in an eight-year period from 1966 through 1973 and also in Super Bowls V and VI. Bob also was selected to play in 11 Pro Bowls. He is the first player who spent his entire career with the Cowboys to be elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Read Bob Lilly’s Bio.

Joining Lilly in the Class of 2011 are:

Wally Bullington: A four-year letterman in football at Abilene Christian Univeristy, he went on to coach six seasons at Abilene High, compiling a 40-19-1 record before moving on to become the head coach at ACU, going 62-32-2 in nine seasons and winning an NAIA championship in 1973. He also served as the school’s athletic director.

John Ray Godfrey: The Aspermont native was a first-team all-American at ACU in 1968, averaging 23.8 points per game. He finished his collegiate career with 1,467 points.

Cindy Shelton Raughton: A standout at tiny Avoca, she played three seasons with a Wayland Baptist College Hutcherson Flying Queens team that won an AAU national championship in 1960.

Mike Welch: A two-time all-stater at Sweetwater, he started at running back and defensive back and led the Mustangs to a state championship in 1985 before going on to Baylor, where he was a four-year starter at defensive back. He was the only Big Country athlete named to Dave Campbell’s Texas Football Magazine’s 50th anniversary team, honoring the state’s top high school players from 1960-2010.

John Paul Young: A starting offensive lineman at Abilene High in 1957 who went on to play collegiately at Texas Western (now Texas-El Paso). But it was as an assistant coach where Young made his biggest impact, first at SMU and Texas A&M, then in the NFL with the Oilers, Saints, Chiefs, Broncos and Bears.

Mike McClellan: The star running back at Stamford and the University of Oklahoma will be inducted posthumously. He played on Stamford’s state championship teams in 1955 and ’56 and also excelled in track and field. An academic All-American at Oklahoma, he played two seasons in the NFL with the Eagles.

Rounding out the inductees will be the Morris Southall family of Brownwood, recipient of the second annual Legacy Awards. Southall was Hall of Fame coach Gordon Wood’s top assistant for 26 years. Two of Southall’s sons, Si and Shae, quarterbacked state championship teams, and his oldest son, Terry, was a starting quarterback at Baylor. Longtime Lone Star Conference official Don Bridges of Abilene will be honored with the fifth Lifetime Achievement Award, and Abilene High grad and award-winning Texas sportswriter Carlton Stowers will receive the Lifetime Achievement for Media award.


  1. varenizar007 says:

    To Bob Lilly,

    This is Mrs Arenivar, I”m a very clean person, that I have wiped off your autograph off the helmet you sign for my husband a while back in El Paso. I felt very bad about it that I tried to fix it and found out that I had missed spelled your name to Bill Lilly. Years went by and finally my husband notice one day. Of course he was mad but then we laughed.
    Its a story that will always be told for years to come, so now I let dust collect on his toys.

    Hope this made you laugh.

    Yours truly
    Mrs. Arenivar